Movies that deliciously drip of sap

I have been trying to write this blog article? post? For at least a month now, lets face it. This aint my primary outlet for creation. But this medium has advantages that override youtube sometimes. Sure I could make a 10 minute video or 2 10 minute videos about this subject, but I thought I would attack this subject Big Willy style.

There is sometimes when you are just in the mood to stretch out on your couch, or sit in front of your pc, and sink into a wonderfully sad movie. Face value that looks like aww that would just make you sad oh no even though a tear might trickle down your cheek. No, these are the movies that have well developed characters struggling through a tough life changing battle that makes you laugh and cry and root them on to the wonderful or not so wonderful ending. You root them on through tough times, and when they make it well you can’t help but have a huge grin on your face. Sometimes you think oh yeah of course it’s a happy ending but sometimes you just don’t care that you fell for it because the movie was just that great.

The first sappy movies I always think of are the ones I have seen time and time again from my childhood. Yes the children’s movies that I remember watching and re watching when I was a young squirt that brought me such joy are the first ones I think about when I am trying to decide to pick a sappy movie. Whether it was a holiday tradition of mine, or I just loved the movie the developing characters and the sad moments in the movies always get me everytime. They are just too darn good. Those Directors really know how to pull on our heartstrings sometimes. And sometimes we let them.

The Little Mermaid

Ok ok ok I promise you I won’t go on a huge review about how wonderful the Little Mermaid is. It’s just this is the first Disney movie my Grandma bought us. The first official one in the white shell case with the penis blending into the castle structure on the cover of it. And about a year after that our family went to Denmark to see the statue (among other things of course, it was a 6 week trip) of the Little Mermaid where my Grandma said “See Jodi, that is the REAL Little Mermaid!” and that moment I felt very proud because my family is from Denmark. I came from the happiest country in the world! Cool huh 🙂

Anywho, Disney movies. I stopped really watching the new ones that came out when I was a teenager, but there are several that I love and love to rewatch now. King Triton giving the gift of legs to Ariel, Simba and Nala having a female Lion cub of their own mirroring when he was born, Tod and Copper going their separate ways with Tod finding his place in the forest with Vixie a female fox, Pinocchio becoming a real boy, the Beast (which I don’t think we ever found out his real name) becoming human because of Belle whispering I love you, Quasimodo being accepted by the towns people, and the list goes on and on. Those Disney people sure know how to write a great coming of age story. I don’t know anymore because I think the last Disney movie I have watched is Monsters Inc. but I have watched several of them. I am proud to say I teared up the first 3 times or so when I watched Toy Story 2 during “Jessie’s Song” which I very rarely do. I am proud because I watched the Pixar story on Starz and Tom Hanks admitted to crying during that song too. It just gets me thinking about the times people have moved on from relationships with me and how that hurt because I still wanted to be friends with them. That is one of the most emotionally painful things to experience.

Ok, I know what your thinking. Your thinking no not E.T. anything but that! But let me just say my piece and we can move on. For some reason the tv Networks thought E.T. is a great movie for the Holiday season and they either play it on Thanksgiving weekend or Christmas eve or Christmas. Well those fuckers have implanted into our brains that this is a great movie to watch during the Holidays and so when that time of the year comes around we get a craving for this video. Fuckers! But other then that fact I love this movie. Even if Drew Barrymore is in it. I am sorry but that woman is annoying to me. It’s because when she talks it looks like she’s gnawing on a bone. And that aint right. I do feel sorry for her because of her childhood. I can feel sorry for someone and respect them but not like them.

How did I go down that road? Elliot is adorable and reminds me of myself. I always thought someday I would find a hidden gift that instantly would make me special and loved by all. And I love the fact that he is so close to E.T. even though if E.T. stayed wouldn’t that be so weird when Elliot would find a woman that is suitable to marry? If you marry me, you have to marry E.T. as well! I think that is weirder then him saying he has a sneezing fetish. It’s a real thing, google it if you don’t believe me!

Of course there are other children’s movies that tug on my heartstrings but that is all I want to dwell on that for now. I also love the movies Thumbelina, Free Willy, Labyrinth, Hook, the first Ninja Turtles movie, and again the list goes on.

I don’t know about you, but I feel like a sucker when I fall for a motion picture movie and put it in my favorite sad movies list. Not to sound like an old fuddy duddy but they don’t make movies like they used to. And yes I might be talking about the mid 90’s.

My Grandma wanted to see this movie so bad because of all of the advertising and awards. She isn’t the type to go out to the theater or even watch on tv a movie but every once in a while she watches a movie that they talk a lot about on tv. If you ask her though she hasn’t watched a movie in 30 years.  She got a copy at Costco I believe and I watched it first. She doesn’t know how to work a VCR so it was up to me to cue it up after Granddad went to bed. I knew everything would be ok except the part where Forest and Jenny (Jennay) had sex. I was in the 7th Grade so of course that would of been awkward. I preplanned and walked into the kitchen, ate a slice of processed cheese, and went back into the same room after hearing a “what the hell?!?” she liked the movie overall she said she thought it was ok.

The kids in my school everytime one of their friends would take off in a steady jog or a run they would yell “run Forrest run!” and so sometimes I still say the same. I told my best friend Harry that little joke and so he says it too sometimes. I just love the movie. I don’t think anyone else could of been Forrest rather then Tom Hanks. I love how he stumbles into success in his life. In real life you would be irritated or upset with someone like that but in this movie you are rooting him on. I love the end when he learns he has a son and we see a little baby faced Haley Joel Osment. Forrest Gump is by far the best Dad to that little kid. He very patiently deals with day to day issues with raising a son and cherishes them. At least that is how I picture it. They have been playing this movie on various cable channels as they should be. This is a timeless movie.

My other favorite types of sad, gripping movies are the made for tv movies. I don’t really watch the newer ones, but why should I have to when the ones that were made in the 80’s and 90’s were so great. Whether they showed a dramatization of a famous event like the Tanya Harding movies or the Amy Fisher movies. Or based on a true story movies that based on stories that aren’t so famous that makes you inspired because the characters have gone through so very much. They always have one of those actors or actresses that you say, “Oh so THAT is what they are up to nowadays!” and you turn into a movie critique seeing if they can play more then a role in a sitcom or a typecasted role. But there is one specific movie that pops into my mind when I think of made for tv movies. It is I know my name is Steven that was first aired in 1989. That movie is so good. Not just the movie but a quick read through Wikipedia makes it that much better.

I know my first name is Steven

Oh yes, this movie is great if you enjoy made for tv movies.  A poor, typical American family with a stubborn Grandpa yelling at the parents because they can’t afford all of their kids they have.  Steven is a dysfunctional child but in an usual way.  He is quiet and keeps to himself, and he looks like he is just doing a lot of heavy thinking.  Like a mid-life crisis.  The father gets mad at him for not coming home right away after school and thinks about hitting him with a belt.  Which from what I read the parents were abusive towards their children and heavily believed in corporal punishment.  Steven promises to come home straight after school from then on after a “you are worrying your mother sick lately” speech.  The next morning while trying to round up their children to take them to school they found Steven, writing his name on the Garage door.

The father promises to deal with Steven later after school, and they all go their separate ways.  Meanwhile Ken Parnell is scheming to kidnap a child, trying to convince his dumber cohort that he just wants to be a father and he is going to get him a boy.  He goes to the school and sees Steven going straight home from school.  Steven Stayner’s case is rare because after 7 years Ken kidnaps another child after Steven is growing into a man, and then Steven realizes what has happened to him and he must save this other boy from the trauma he has endured.  That is the sweet part, in all reality Steven was probably just jealous of Timmy’s attention and that is why he didn’t want him around.  From what I have read online that is what the book says which I will eventually read.

When Steven goes back to his family it’s happy at first but then they admit that isn’t the Steven that was kidnapped from them 7 years before.  You would think the first part of the movie would be the most painful, it isn’t.  The mother wants to be motherly but the father feels angry, defensive and distraught about the situation.  Every time the mother wants to give him structure the father says he deserves to do whatever he wants because of what he has been through.  So Steven goes around drinking, having sex, skipping school, and raising havoc.  He craves structure, but on the other hand feels like no one can tell him what to do and gets defensive everytime one of his parents tells him to stop it.  He eventually moves into a trailer and gets his girlfriend pregnant.  About a year after this movie aired for the first time on tv, he died in a motorcycle accident.

I just told you the run down of this entire movie, but trust me it’s worth watching.  I don’t think it’s on DVD yet it’s only on VHS.  I would love to have a copy of it, but about 2 months ago I found a copy of it on youtube which unfortunately is gone now.   I have caught the movie on tv about 5 times or so throughout the years even though they don’t play it anymore I don’t think.  Even though there are movies on the lifetime movie network that are from 1992.

There is a where are they now type of update on wikipedia which I told you earlier is half of the fun nowadays.  Ken Parnell died on January 21st, 2008.  Yep, just the beginning of this year he was in jail and he died of natural causes.  What happened is this broken legal system especially states like California that have the three strikes law he only went to jail for FIVE YEARS because of what he did to Steven and kidnapping Timmy.  In January of 2004, he asked his caregiver (he was old and needed supervision at the time) to help him buy a 4 year old boy.  The caregiver told the police and helped in a police sting sending Ken to prison and thanks to the three strikes law (which I saw part of a documentary once proving the system to be complete bullshit) he was serving 25 to life.  In 1951 he was charged with sodomy of a young boy.

Now, that isn’t the whole story.  Steven had a brother by the name of Cary Stayner.  Have you ever heard of the Yosemite killer?  Yep, that’s Cary.  Cary admitted to having fantasies since a little kid about killing women.  He got arrested and put in jail for murdering 4 women in 1999 at Yosemite California.

I apologize if I made you bored by going off on a Steven Stayner rant at the end but I hope you learned some things about me and about things I know about with this blog.  You should at 2300+ words.  But if Americans are good at anything we are good at talking alot but not saying a damn word.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Movies that deliciously drip of sap”

  1. Billy Says:

    Forest Gump always made me sad for some reason. Especially the end. He always seemed so lonely and even if the audience is made to believe he was stupid, I think he knew he was lonely.

    I don’t understand why people hate on ET. I like ET.

  2. DJ D Says:

    Yeah, Forest Gump is indeed a classic. I never really understood the whole thing about doing or watching something that makes you sad or will make you cry when you know that it’s going to just that. Doesn’t seem very logical to me, but I’ve been told by a few ex-girlfriends that I lack emotion and am too logical anyway, so what do I know? (The funny, ironic thing is that even though I go through great pains to keep it to myself, they couldn’t be more wrong)

    As far as sad underdog movies go, I’ve always liked Lucas. I both feel sorry for him and am angry at him for being such a fool everytime I watch it. Plus, how can you watch that and not fall in love with the redhead wonder that is Keri Green.

  3. jdevore Says:

    Thank you for commenting DJ D. I have never seen the movie Lucas.

    I think that is why they call them chick flicks. Us women love to sit through a movie that has well developed characters that go through hard times. I rarely cry because of a movie but I know some people men and women alike that cry over the littlest things. I know I read someone cried watching the movie Juno when Jennifer Garner put her hand on Ellen Page’s pregnant stomach for the first time. Don’t understand that. And I don’t think Jennifer Garner is that cute.

    Billy – my best friend has never seen ET just little clips of it. I want him too so bad but he just refuses. I don’t think he’s lonely he is just patiently waiting for his son to come home. I love how he is keeping his word to his son saying he will be there when he comes back. I think Forrest Gump knows who he is and works very hard to try his best. He takes things very seriously. And the book is nothing like the movie so I have heard.

Leave a Reply

