It happened. It finally happened.

Does this mean I’m an official youtuber now?

I have a handful of copyrighted clips that I have on my youtube account that I had no involvement making.  I just liked the clip, did a search on youtube, and saw that clip wasn’t on youtube yet so I thought I would benefit people by uploading it for them.  I feel it’s easier for me to go to my account online and rewatch the clips on my account.  Yes I rewatch my own videos.  I rewatch the ones I think are well done like my stop motion videos, or ones that it’s been months since I have done the video.  I am disappointed one out of my two John Lennon videos was the first to be flagged, because I worked over 20 hours on them.  It was a little over a week before his birthday in October, and I decided on a whim to do a video with clips from his music videos and then with that video make a second one with John Lennon quotes and facts about the late and great John Lennon.  I don’t think John Lennon if he were still alive would of flagged my video.  I am dumbfounded and stunned.  I knew it would of happened someday…

Bye bye video.  It was fun.

Bye.

I deleted both versions of the video, even though they only flagged one.  My youtube channel is not one that is primarily made to upload copyrighted clips so to stay on their good side I will delete any of them that get flagged.  I think my most important videos are the ones that I am talking about my life and telling my stories.  My second most important are the stopmotion videos set to music.  I am afraid those will get flagged because of the copyright music in them.  I would hate for one to get thee ol’ flag because I love them.  I feel they show human nature, MY human nature and I feel they are creative and artistic.  If I like them so much I guess I could just get some boring public domain music to put over them 🙂  Later Gators.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “It happened. It finally happened.”

  1. tnk Says:

    You’re right – Lennon wouldn’t have flagged your video – but most videos are taken down not by the artists themselves, but by companies like EMI, which owns the masters to “Give Peace a Chance,” for example.

  2. Goob Says:

    Thank you for leaving a comment.

    I know all about copyright infringement. I have other youtube friends that rant about it sometimes. I have a friend that was recently suspended because of clips being flagged and him not taking them down. It’s not a big deal for me to take them down because that isn’t the main thing that my channel is about. Most of my videos are made with my camcorder.

Leave a Reply

